Motorcycle Safety Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Motorcycle Safety Program, FAQs
Frequently Asked Questions
COURSE DESCRIPTIONS and COURSE RELATED QUESTIONS
CLASS RELATED QUESTIONS
LICENSING & TEST RELATED QUESTIONS
CONTACT RELATED QUESTIONSRegister for a Class
Registration may be done by web, fax, mail, or in-person. Students may register at any WD&CE Customer Service Office. See Registration Information, Options and Policies for more information on Customer Service locations and information on how to register by Web. Registrations will not be accepted early.
How old do I have to be to sign up?
Students must be at least 16 years and 7 months old to take the course. However, the Motor Vehicle Administration requires that students under the age of 18, or those applying for their first driver's license must complete the Maryland Graduated License Program before they can apply for a secondary license (such as motorcycle). See MVA Rookie Driver for more information.
What happens if I owe the College money?
The College will not allow you to register until all previous financial obligations are resolved.
Do you offer a lottery or stand-by?
Yes. Montgomery College offers the Standby process administered by the Motorcycle Training Center Manager through a lottery to ensure full enrollment of each course when registered students do not show up for the course. To participate in the lottery, students should show up 30 minutes prior to the beginning of class. If you are already registered for another class, and others are awaiting a standby slot, those students who are not preregistered for another course have first option if there are any available seats. BRC students are to report to the student lounge at the training center located on the 4th floor of Montgomery College's Business Training Center. ABRC / BRC 2 students should report to the range (14 Firstfield Road, Gaithersburg). A few minutes before the course begins, name(s) will be chosen by lottery for available spaces in the course. The standby roster and lottery will only accept a limited number of names as the likelihood for more than one lottery participant to win is low given that there are rarely more than 2 spaces available in each course.
Senior Citizen or National Guard Tuition Waiver:
To be eligible you must be a resident of Maryland and qualify for in-state tuition according to the College guidelines, and be at least 60 years old, or retired and disabled as defined by the Social Security or the Railroad Retirement Act. If you are currently a member of the Maryland National Guard and are enlisted for at least a 24 month period, you are eligible for a 50% tuition waiver. You must submit proof of such from the adjutant general's office. Only tuition is waived; required fees must be paid by the student.
What should I do if I have a disability?
If you need support services due to a disability, please follow these steps:
1. Register for a class.
2. Call 240-567-5266 or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org at least four weeks prior to the start of class to arrange for accommodations and/or assistive technology.
If this procedure is not followed, services may be delayed and you may not be able to participate in the program.
What about the weather?
Classes are sometimes affected by the weather. In the case of extreme weather conditions, please check www.montgomerycollege.edu or the College’s main phone number at 240-567-5000, which will indicate if the College (and all of its classes) is closed. Unless the College is closed or you are contacted by Montgomery College, you can expect the course to proceed. On rare occasions heavy rain or strong winds will force a class to be postponed. If that is the case you will be notified, and your class will be rescheduled. Should you have any questions about the course you may contact the Training Center Manager at Motorcycle@montgomerycollege.edu or the motorcycle hotline at 240-567-1864 for any special instructions, if applicable. Also stay up to date with us on FACEBOOK!
Do I need a driver’s license?
No, you may take the course without a drivers license as long as you are 16 years and 7 months. However, you will not be able to obtain the "M" endorsement on your license until you have met certain requirements as outlined in the Maryland Graduated License Program. Students under the age of 18, or those applying for their first driver's license, must complete the Maryland Graduated License Program, before they can apply for a secondary license (such as motorcycle). See MVA ROOKIE Driver or MVA ROOKIE Driver FAQs for more information.
What if I’m under 18?
If you are under 18, a parent or legal guardian must sign the MVA/MCSP Release form which will be given out at the first class. You will not be allowed to attend the first range session unless your parent or guardian has signed the release form. Please note that students must complete the Maryland Graduated License Program before applying for a secondary license, such as a motorcycle license. See the MVA ROOKIE driver program for more information on the Maryland Graduated License Program.
What if I don't speak English?
All class content including discussions, text reading, exercises and exams are conducted in English. There are no translators provided. Students can assess their English proficiency by using the ESOL campus testing services prior to registering, call 240-567-7262.
What if I am not a Maryland Resident?
Non-Maryland residents will have to pay an additional non-resident fee when they register for the class. Upon the successful completion of the class Non-Maryland resident students will receive a completion card, not a certificate. Maryland completion cards may or may not be acceptable to other states although the District of Columbia (at the time of this writing March 2013) DOES accept the Maryland completion card.
What is the refund policy?
Refunds must be requested in writing and are granted to those students who Drop the course by the College's 6% date. To Drop the course and receive a refund call Customer Service at 240-567-5188.
BRC: You should consider the Beginning Rider Course (BRC). If you have never ridden a motorcycle before.
ABRC: Take the Alternate BRC (ABRC), if you have some riding experience or are currently riding without a license and simply want to get your license.
BRC2: You should consider taking the BRC 2 if you are a licensed rider and wish to enhance your skills. You will be expected to ride your own bike. Program bikes will not be available. You will be asked to provide proof of insurance for the motorcycle that you will be riding. You must be properly dressed to participate in the class; see What do I wear for class?. The dress code is the same for the BRC.
How do I get access to the eCourse?
A week before the class starts you will be emailed a unique passcode and a URL for the eCourse, along with an information packet. This passcode is just for you. If you register late, contact the Motorcycle Safety Program for your passcode information. Contact information is on the bottom of this page.
Where are the classes held?
Most classroom sessions are held at GBTC, although a few are held at our Rockville or Germantown Campus .
Gaithersburg Business Training Center (GBTC) *map
12 S. Summit Ave., Suite 400, Gaithersburg, Maryland 20877
8:30am - 9:00pm, Monday - Friday; 8:30am - 4:30pm, Saturday.
Phone: 240-567-1863, Fax: 240-567-1877
or a classroom at Montgomery College, Rockville Campus, Rockville, Maryland 20850, see map.
All range sessions will be held at Montgomery College’s leased parking lot,located at:
14 Firstfield Road
Gaithersburg, MD 20878 see map
Can I preview the material for the course?
Yes, if you would like to prepare for class ahead of time, the booklet is available online at:
http://www.msf-usa.org/downloads/BRCHandbook.pdf. Once you get to the page, scroll down until you see the Rider Course Handbook link, and click on it. Please note that this is a PDF file that cannot be saved to your computer. You can only view it online.
How long does a course last?
The BRC takes approximately 17 hours, usually with 2 days of classroom sessions and two days on the range. See schedule for dates and times.
The Alternate BRC and BRC2 take approximately 7 - 8 hours each.
What is the typical course schedule?
Most BRC classroom sessions are held Wednesday andThursday evenings from 6-9 p.m., and range practice is held on Saturday and Sunday mornings or Saturday and Sunday afternoons. See schedule for more information.
Occasionally a BRC class is scheduled during the day time in the middle of the week. Check the schedule for more information.
ABRC and BRC2 students report directly to the range. All training sessions are held on the range. Usually the range sessions are all day from about 8:00am to 6:00pm on a Saturday or Sunday with a break for lunch. Check the schedule for more information.
Can I ride my own motorcycle during the range portion of the course?
In the BRC training motorcycles are provided. A participant may use their personal scooter in a BRC if it has an engine displacement of 51 cubic centimeters or more. Personal scooters must be in good operating condition and be transported to the training center legally. A personal scooter must be insured and the owner must assume all liability for its use in the course. The Program will not be responsible for any damage to a personal scooter as a result of participation. If you are not properly licensed to operate a motorcycle do not ride it to class. If you have a Class M learners permit your accompanying rider must present him or herself to the course Instructor(s). Violators are subject to dismissal from class, or will not receive their course completion documents. If necessary, law enforcement will be notified. Note: Please contact the Motorcycle Safety Program office or the training center where enrolling to make arrangements
In the ABRC training motorcycles are provided but participants may use their personal motorcycle if it is transported legally to the training center. Motorcycles with sidecars or trikes may not be used. Scooters may be used if they have an engine displacement of 51 cubic centimeters or more. If you are not properly licensed to operate a motorcycle do not ride it to class. If you have a Class M learners permit your accompanying rider must present him or herself to the course Instructor(s). Violators are subject to dismissal from class, or will not receive their course completion documents. If necessary, law enforcement will be notified. Note: Please contact the Motorcycle Safety Program office or the training center where enrolling to make arrangements.
In the BRC 2 participants must be licensed motorcyclists and will be expected to ride their own bikes. Training motorcycles will not be available for BRC 2 student use. Proof of proper license, registration, and insurance will be required prior to the beginning of the class.
What does the Motorcycle Safety Program (MCSP) provide?
For the BRC, the MCSP provides the instructors, the curriculum materials and the RiderCourse Handbook. The MCSP also provides training motorcycles, helmets, gloves, and eye protection—which must be returned at the end of each range session. If you own your own riding gear, you are encouraged to use it as long as it meets the requirements noted below. All borrowed equipment must be returned at the end of each class/ range session.
For the ABRC, the MCSP provides the instructors, the curriculum materials and, the Classroom Cards, training motorcycles, helmets, gloves, and eye protection. All borrowed equipment must be returned at the end of your class.
For the BRC 2, the MCSP provides the instructors, the curriculum materials and, the Classroom Cards—which must be returned at the end of the class. You will be expected to ride your own motorcycle. Training motorcycles will not be available.
When does the training center open?
The training center opens 30 minutes prior to the beginning of class.
Where do I park?
For classroom sessions located at GBTC there is a four story parking garage behind 12 South Summit Ave. Some spaces are restricted, be sure you do not park in a reserved space!
What happens if I’m late?
We urge you to be on time!. If you are late, you will NOT be admitted to the class! If this occurs, you must request a refund. Refunds are not automatic, you must request one. There is no opportunity in the course to review missed material. The class starts at the time specified according to the GBTC classroom clock or the Instructor’s watch if the class is being conducted on the range.
Montgomery College is not responsible for traffic, weather or any other condition or circumstance that might cause a participant to be late. It is the student’s responsibility to be on time for each class session. We recommend that you plan to be at the proper location at least 30 minutes prior to the start of class.
What do I need to wear for the class?
For the BRC, you will be in the classroom for the 1st day, so wear whatever you are comfortable in. Proper riding apparel will be discussed in class. If you are taking ABRC or the BRC 2 class you should also take note of the required clothing and the new helmet requirements noted below.
In order to ride you will need the following (this applies to all classes):
New Helmet Requirement: You MUST wear a full faced helmet equipped with a face shield. Partial coverage helmets are NOT Allowed. A sturdy jacket or heavy long-sleeved shirt; long pants made of sturdy material; over-the-ankle NON-canvas foot ware with a low heel, eye protection such as eyeglasses, sunglasses, goggles, full faced helmet equipped with a face shield, and full fingered gloves. Your gear must be in good condition with no obvious signs of wear, or damage. The course instructors will have final say regarding the suitability of a participant’s personal riding gear.
1) Cowboy-type boots, or
2) Shoes with soles over ½” thick
3) No Women's platform fashion heeled foot ware
For your safety, you will not be allowed to ride if your apparel, as described above, is not appropriate.
Who teaches the class?
Instructors who are certified by the Maryland Motorcycle Safety Program (MCSP) and the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) teach all classes.
Can I get my Motorcycle License?
Successful completion of the BRC or the ABRC requires that you pass a written test and a riding test. If the participant currently has a Class M learners permit they will not be required to take the written test. Individuals who successfully pass both parts or individuals with a Class M learners permit that passes the riding test will get a Completion Certificate that they must take to a full service MVA office to get the ‘M’ endorsement added to their current license.
If I am active duty military, with an out of state license, what documentation will I receive?
In order to ride on military installations, you must show proof of having successfully completed the BRC. The Maryland Completion Card is considered proof. Individuals who pass both the written and riding portion will get a Maryland Completion Card (the business card sized document) to present to your state agency for approval. You will not receive a Completion Certificate (the letter sized document) unless you are licensed in Maryland.
If I fail a test what do I do?
If you don't pass either the knowledge test or the riding test you will have 30 working days in which to retake the failed portion(s), there is a $35.00 charge to retake the exams.. A second failure will require that you retake the entire course for the regular fee. You will need to contact the Training Center Manager to schedule the retest. Use this form to register/pay for the Motorcycle Retest.
What are the requirements for obtaining my Class M License once I receive my certificate from the course?
Once a student successfully completes all course requirements (BRC or ABRC) and is a Maryland resident they will be issued a Maryland State Completion Certificate. The student may take this Certificate to a full service MVA Office, pay a fee for an eye exam (in addition to any new licensing fees), and a new license will be issued containing the M endorsement. These Certificates expire 6 months after issuance, and cannot be renewed. Students requesting replacement certificates must get authorization from the MVA Program Director of Maryland State Motorcycle Safety Program.
What if I still have questions?
For registration information, and to see if there is any space still available in any class, call Montgomery College, Customer Service , at 240-567-5188, or email email@example.com.
For motorcycle-specific information, such as information about class content, or to see which class is the right one for you, contact the training center manager at Motorcycle@montgomerycollege.edu or the motorcycle hotline at 240-567-1864.
For a complete listing, visit the MVA at