Skip to Main Content

Germantown Counseling & Advising

Location, Hours, People: 

Student Affairs and Sciences Building (SA), Room 250.

Need help finding us? Use maps and directions to find the Germantown campus.

We Care About Your Success!
Introducing the Starfish System
& Online Scheduling for Counseling & Advising Services

Starfish Icon

Recently, Montgomery College acquired Starfish Retention Solutions in order to create an online student success environment and facilitate access to counseling and advising services.   Students will be able to use Starfish to view service availability and schedule appointments online to meet with a Counselor in person.  

  • Students must have applied to the College and been issued an M#.
  • Appointments are  typically offered in 30-minute blocks.
  • To schedule an appointment, go to  MyMC and click on the
    Starfish icon
      SF Logo  
    See step-by-step instructions for making an appointment with a counselor.


Visit Online Advising for Frequently Asked Advising Questions or e-mail an online counselor.

Mailing Address:
Germantown Counseling & Advising
20200 Observation Drive, Room 250
Student Affairs and Science Building
Germantown, MD 20876
Phone: 240-567-7734
Fax: 240-567-1985

 

Find more information on our Academic Coaching  program.    Click Here!  

 

We also provide counseling and advising to international students, speakers of English as a second language, and recent immigrants enrolled at Montgomery College’s American English Language Program (AELP).

HOURS OF OPERATION*

View MC Germantown Campus Counseling - Summer 2018 Hours of Operation (pdf format)

All students should schedule an appointment using the online scheduling for counseling and advising services.  Please plan to arrive at least 10 minutes prior to your scheduled appointment. 

Students arriving after their appointment time may be asked to reschedule. If you need more time than scheduled, you may be asked to make a follow-up appointment. 


* Open Saturday, August 18, 2018
Hours may change due to special events or closures due to weather.

Special Closures: 

Germantown Counseling & Advising will be closed the following dates:

Wednesday, May 16, 2018
(Closed for Collegewide Meetings)

Friday, May 18, 2018
(Closed 8:30am - 2pm  for College Commencement, OPEN 2pm - 5pm)

Monday, May 28, 2018
(College Closed in observance of Memorial Day)

Friday, June 8, 2018 
(Closed for Collegewide Computer System Upgrade)

Wednesday, July 4, 2018 
(College Closed in observance of Independence Day)

Monday, September 3, 2018 

(College Closed in observance of Labor Day)


Faculty & Staff

Department Chair Phone Room
Ms. Katie Mount (Montgomery Advising Program, MAP & Academic Coach) 

katie.mount@montgomerycollege.edu

(240) 567-6966

SA 236 
Ms. LaShaun Harris, Counseling & Advising Administrative Aide
lashaun.harris@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-7734 SA 250
Ms. Bonnie Vanatta, Part-Time Office Assistant
bonnie.vanatta@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-7734 SA 250
Full-Time Faculty Counselors Phone Room
Online Advising/Email a Counselor
gtcounseling@montgomerycollege.edu
Mr. Anthony Solano (Distance Education/Online Advising & Counseling)
anthony.solano@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-1997 SA 244
Dr. Jennifer Dobbins (Academic Coach)
jennifer.dobbins@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-1996 SA 235
Ms. Kimberly Drain (International)
kimberly.drain@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-7757 SA 254
Ms. Ada Garcia-Casellas (International)
ada.garcia-casellas@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-1801 SA 255
Ms. Zenobia Garrison (Career)
zenobia.garrison@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-1968 BE 256
Ms. Tyra Goodgain Peanort (FYE)
tyra.peanort@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-7715 SA 252
Ms. Barbara LaPilusa (Transfer/Scholarship)
barbara.lapilusa@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-6965
SA 251
Ms. Erin Marcinek (Houser) (Academic Coach)
erin.marcinek@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-6936 SA 253
Dr. Jack Sallie (International)
jack.sallie@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-6959 SA 243
Ms. Tamesha Robinson (Career)
tamesha.robinson@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-6968 SA 264
Dr. Harvey Stempel (DSS/Pathways/Academic Coach)
harvey.stempel@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-6967 SA 237
Ms. Norma Winffel 
normawinffel@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-1991 SA 249
Mr. Harry Zarin (DSS/Academic Coach)
harry.zarin@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-7767 (V/TTY) SA 239
Part-Time Faculty Counselors Phone Room
Dr. Helen Dias
maria.dias@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-7734 SA 247
Ms. Jacy Hildreth (DSS/Online Advising)
jacy.hildreth@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-7734 SA 240
Ms. Heather Hughes (DSS)
heather.hughes@montgomerycollege.edu 
(240) 567-1992 SA 241
Ms. Marilyn Keeley
marilyn.keeley@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-7734 SA 250
Ms. Angela Mastromatteo
angela.mastromatteo@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-7734 SA 250
Ms. Anne Schleicher (Transfer)
anne.schleicher@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-7734 SA 250
Mr. Doug Smith (Academic Coach)
doug.smith@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-7734 SA 248
Dr. Joseph Swope 
joseph.swope@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-7734 SA 250

Montgomery College

Montgomery County, MD

240-567-5000

©2018, Montgomery College