Skip to Main Content

Rockville Counseling & Advising

 

LOCATION   |   HOURS   |  PEOPLE  |  COUNSELING / ADVISING


Location 

Rockville Counseling
51 Mannakee Street
215 Counseling Building, Room 215
Rockville, MD 20850

Need help finding us? Use maps and directions to the Rockville campus.

Information: 240-567-5063
FAX: 240-567-5089


Counseling Department Hours

Individual Appointments (NOT FOR F-1 OR FINANCIAL AID - SAP APPOINTMENTS) 

We Care About Your Success!   Introducing the Starfish System
Starfish Icon
& Online Scheduling for Counseling & Advising Services

Recently, Montgomery College acquired Starfish Retention Solutions in order to create an online student success environment and facilitate access to counseling and advising services.   Students will be able to use Starfish to view service availability and schedule appointments online to meet with a Counselor in person.  

  • Students must have applied to the College and been issued an M#.
  • Appointments are  typically offered in 30-minute blocks.
  • To schedule an appointment, go to  MyMC and click on the Starfish icon  SF Logo  ( see step-by-step instructions.)
    If unable to keep your appointment, please cancel it in Starfish or call us at 240-567-5063.

Online Advising

We may be able to answer your questions via email.   If you have a general/quick question about a specific issue that can be answered over e-mail, you may submit the  Request for Online Advising form.  Please note that due to the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) counselors only provide general information, and will not share information or work on student records via email.  If you do need assistance that requires a counselor to access your student record and you cannot come in to Counseling for an appointment you should consider submitting the Request for Tele-Advising form.  We reserve the right to refer you to make an in-person appointment with a counselor if we can’t assist you through Online Advising.    

F-1 Student Appointments

If an International Student Coordinator referred you to see a Counselor, you will need to submit a  request for an F-1 Student appointment.  If you have questions about immigration status and visas, contact the  International Student Coordinators directly.

Financial Aid Appointments --  (NOTE:  Appointments will be scheduled for the months of March, June, and October)

If you are a General Studies major and need an academic plan as part of your Financial Aid appeal, submit a request for a financial aid appeal appointment here .  If you are not a General Studies major, you will need to schedule an appointment with a faculty advisor in your major.  See:   Rockville Campus Advising Directory and Department Web Site Listing)   If you have any other questions about financial aid, contact the  Financial Aid Office directly.

Veteran (Combat-to-College) Appointments

If you are veteran or currently serving the military, submit a  request for an appointment here.

New Student Group Advising Program

IMAP - After completing the ESL ACCUPLACER, the next step is to attend a group advising program (IMAP) in order to get your scores and more! 

Request an appointment for the GROUP advising program (IMAP)     

During the program you will:

  1. Obtain test results and your course placements in writing, reading and speaking.
  2. Learn more about the courses offered through the American English Language Program at Montgomery College.
  3. Identify courses for your first semester at Montgomery College.
  4. Receive advising and have your questions answered by a counselor. 

MAP OR EMAP - After completing the ACCUPLACER OR submitted scores which exempt you from testing:

Complete an advising program (MAP or eMAP) in order to get your scores and more!   Call 240-567-5063 to schedule your appointment or find out how to complete the online advising program.

*New students who have already earned a degree through another institution, those designated as “personal interest”, and visiting students from other colleges are encouraged, but not required, to attend an advising program


Administrative Support Phone Room
Ms. Tonya Harris, Administrative Aide
Tonya.Harris@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5085CB215
Ms. Nancy Hicks, Administrative Aide
Nancy.Hicks@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5088CB215
Full Time Counselors Phone Room
Ms. Sue Adler
Sue.Adler@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5086CB201
Ms. Dana Louise Baker
Dana.Baker@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5065CB229
Ms. Francesca Caretto
Francesca.Caretto@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5068CB231
Ms. Valerie Collins
Valerie.Collins@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5078CB231A
Mr. Fabian Drain
Fabian.Drain@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-4079CB215G
Ms. Denise Simmons Graves
Denise.Graves@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5093CB209
Ms. Ever Grier, Chairperson
EV.Grier@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5083CB215D
Mr. Gustavus Griffin
Gustavus.Griffin@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5090CB216
Ms. Aggie Harrell Sparks
Aggie.Harrell@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5079CB215A
Ms. Joan Hawkins
Joan.Hawkins@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5075CB203

Ms. Marcella Karp
marcella.karp@montgomerycollege.edu

(240) 567-5066CB212
Ms. Karen King
Karen.King@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5056CB215F
Mr. Tim Kirkner
Tim.Kirkner@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5049CB204
Ms. Julie Levinson
Julie.Levinson@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5076CB228
Ms. DJ McCullough
DJ.McCullough@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-8019CB208
Mr. Clif McKnight
Clifton.McKnight@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5084CB207
Mr. Marcus Peanort
Marcus.Peanort@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5055CB202
Ms. Sharon Petrillo
Sharon.Petrillo@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5082CB225
Ms. Jessica Present
Jessica.Present@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-7497CB205
Ms. Linda Robinson
Linda.Robinson@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5080CB206
Ms. Karissa Silver
Karissa.Silver@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-7200CB215F
Ms. Hilda Decena Smith
Hilda.Smith@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5116CB224
Ms. Kathryn Woodhouse
mailto:WoodhouseKathryn.Woodhouse@montgomerycollege.edu 
(240) 567-5098 CB226
Ms. Gail Wright
Gail.Wright@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5099CB227
Ms. Celia Young
Celia.Young@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5069CB211
Part Time Counselors Phone Room
Ms. Jamie Adasi

Jamie.Adasi@montgomerycollege.edu 

(240) 567-5063 CB215 

Ms. Martha Baer 
Martha.Baer@montgomerycollege.edu  

(240) 567-5063CB215
Ms. Pascale Brown
Pascale.Brown@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5063 CB215 
Ms. Lorraine Bryant
Lorraine.Bryant@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5063CB215
Ms. Amy Evans
Amy.Evans@montgomerycollege.edu 
(240) 567-5063 CB215 
Dr. Robert (Bob) Kauppi
Bob.Kauppi@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5063CB215
Ms. Kelly Kleine
Kelly.Kleine@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5063CB215
Mr. William Nasvaderani
William.Nasvaderani@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5063CB215
Ms. Karima Selehdar
Karima.Selehdar@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5063CB215
Ms. Laurie White
Laurie.White@montgomerycollege.edu 
(240) 567-5063CB215 
Dr. Rudolph White
Rudolph.White@montgomerycollege.edu
(240) 567-5063CB215
Ms. Michelle Williams
Michelle.Williams@montgomerycollege.edu
 (240) 567-5063 CB215

Montgomery College

Montgomery County, MD

240-567-5000

©2014, Montgomery College