Skip to Main Content

Department of Visual Arts and Design

Full-Time Faculty in Visual and Performing Arts

Department Chair

Norberto Gomez, Jr. PhD
Associate Professor of visual art, Gomez teaches graphic design, typography, digital tools, and illustration at MC. Gomez has previously taught at MICA, Towson University, Virginia Commonwealth University and the University of Houston. Gomez, an interdisciplinary artist and scholar, earned a BFA from Texas A&M University –Kingsville, an MFA in painting and drawing from the University of Houston, and a PhD in media art and text from Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond where he studied digital culture. Gomez is co-founder of Sybil Press and author and illustrator of the artist book, The Book of Cannibals. Recent exhibitions include: CICA, South Korea, Little Berlin, Philadelphia, and (e)merge art fair, D.C. Select conference presentations include: Digital Humanities, Mexico City, Approaching Posthumanism and the Posthuman, Geneva, Switzerland, and Southeastern College Art Conference.
norberto.gomez@montgomerycollege.edu
240-567-5502
Office: CF127

Performing Arts

Heather A. Brown, Music
Professor Heather A. Brown has served part-time on the music faculty at Montgomery College since 2004. A full-time professor since 2018, she teaches music appreciation, music theory and applied music.  Her survey courses explore various styles of music from within their cultural and historical contexts.  Prof. Brown holds a bachelor’s degree in music from Binghamton University and Master’s degree in Voice Performance from the University of Maryland. She has maintained a private studio of voice and piano students for over 18 years. As a performer, she has sung professionally in many area churches and as a soloist under the auspices of the Friday Morning Music Club. 
heather.brown@montgomerycollege.edu
240-567-1388
Office: CU116

David Rothman, Theater
Professor Rothman is the lead faculty member for the Introduction to Human Communication courses on the Takoma Park/Silver Spring campus of Montgomery College, as well a regular instructor for Introduction to Film. He holds MA and BA degrees from the University of Maryland, as well as an Associate of Arts degree from Montgomery College, all in theatre.  He has also performed on stage in local professional theatre appearing in productions for Studio Theatre, Spooky Action Theatre, Source Theatre, Round House Theatre, Classika Theatre and the Washington Revels and has understudied for roles at the Folger and Shakespeare Theatres.
david.rothman@montgomerycollege.edu
240-567-1682
Office: CU119

Visual Arts

Michael Booker, Drawing
Assistant Professor of art at Takoma Park/Silver Spring, will teach introductory and intermediate drawing. He comes to Montgomery College as a full-time faculty member after serving part-time at MC, Prince George's Community College, and University of Maryland College Park. Courses he has taught include drawing, painting, and two-dimensional design. He earned his bachelor's in fine arts from Mississippi State University and master's in fine arts from the University of Maryland, College Park.
michael.booker@montgomerycollege.edu
240-567-5805
Office: CF132

Kevin Bowman, Printmaking
Associate Professor Kevin Bowman joined the art department of the Takoma Park/Silver Springs campus at Montgomery College in January of 2017 and teaches printmaking, foundations design and drawing. Born and raised in Hartford City, Indiana, he earned a BFA from Ball State University and an MFA from the University of South Dakota. Following completion of his graduate work, he taught at the College of the Sequoias in Visalia, California, while also serving as the director and curator of Arts Visalia, a non-profit community art center in Visalia.
kevin.bowman@montgomerycollege.edu
240-567-1375
Office: CF129

Mieke Gentis, Photography
Assistant Professor Mieke Gentis began teaching at Montgomery College in 2014 and teaches photography, both digital and analog. She serves as the Director of Operations for BuoyRR- an annual residency and retreat for women. In her own practice she uses photography, video, movement and performance. She is always looking for opportunities to collaborate so please send an email if you have an idea. Professor Gentis holds a degree in Imaging and Digital Art from UMBC and a Degree in Sociology from Salisbury University.
mieke.gentis@montgomerycollege.edu
240-567-1374
Office: CF125

Robert Helsley, Graphic Design
Professor Helsley spent over twenty-five years in the television industry as a designer and art director.  He has designed for both print and video. He is the recipient of numerous awards and received three television Emmy Awards for on-air graphics, animation, and set design.
robert.helsley@montgomerycollege.edu
240-567-5811
Office: CF131

Katherine Knight, Painting
Assistant Professor of art at Takoma Park/Silver Spring, will teach drawing and painting. She comes to Montgomery College as a full-time faculty member after serving part-time at MC, Prince George's Community College, and the Corcoran College of Art and Design at George Washington University. Courses she has taught include drawing, painting, color theory, and commercial illustration. She earned her bachelor's in studio art from Centre College in Kentucky and her master's in painting from the American University in Washington, DC.
katherine.knight@montgomerycollege.edu
240-567-1461
Office: CF130

Lincoln Mudd, Sculpture
Professor Mudd teaches all levels of sculpture as well as foundations design and printmaking. Professor Mudd is an alum of Montgomery College and completed a BA and MFA from the University of Maryland, College Park.
lincoln.mudd@montgomerycollege.edu
240-567-1370
Office: CF133

Claudia Rousseau, Art History
Claudia Rousseau, Ph.D., teaches art history with an emphasis on technique, process, and the evolution of style. A studio background helps to make her lectures especially relevant to art students. Professor Rousseau is also a professional art critic, writing regular critical  reviews in local publications. She has two special areas of expertise: Italian Renaissance Art and Modern European and Contemporary American Art. In addition to the foundation survey courses, she teaches specialized courses in Italian Renaissance Art and American Art since 1945. Her connections as art historian and critic enable her to have strong contacts with the Washington metropolitan art scene.
claudia.rousseau@montgomerycollege.edu
240-567-5804
Office: CF128

Megan Van Wagoner, Ceramics and Graphic Design
Professor Van Wagoner is a practicing graphic designer and sculptor. Whether developing web sites or modeling in clay, her artistic goals are the same––to communicate with her audience. Her mixed media sculpture builds a narrative using clay, metal, glass, and other materials. Professor Van Wagoner completed a BFA in ceramics at the Cleveland Institute of Art and an MFA from the Mount Royal School at the Maryland Institute College of Art.
Portfolio Web site
megan.vanwagoner@montgomerycollege.edu
240-567-5803
Office: CF135

Part-Time Faculty in Visual and Performing Arts

Sowbhagyalakshmi Areke –– Film sowmi.areke@montgomerycollege.edu
Adriana Baler –– Ceramics adriana.baler@montgomerycollege.edu
Monica Lee Bellais –– Film
Xiaosheng Bi –– Ceramics xiaosheng.bi@montgomerycollege.edu
Edward Joseph Bisese –– Art Foundations edward.bisese@montgomerycollege.edu
Damien P. Coor –– Film damien.coor@montgomerycollege.edu
Robert J. Devers –– Ceramics robert.devers@montgomerycollege.edu
Roanne M. Duncan –– Dance roanne.duncan@montgomerycollege.edu
Leland E. Edgecombe –– Music leland.edgecombe@montgomerycollege.edu
Jeremy J. Flick –– Art Foundations jeremy.flick@montgomerycollege.edu
Suzanne M. Hilton –– Music suzanne.hilton@montgomerycollege.edu
Carol A. Hinds –– Art History carol.hinds@montgomerycollege.edu
Michal E. Hunter –– Art Foundations michal.hunter@montgomerycollege.edu
Kay Hwang –– Art Foundations kay.hwang@montgomerycollege.edu
Krzysztof Jurczynski –– Sculpture krzysztof.jurczynski@montgomerycollege.edu
Kathleen L. Kretz –– Art Foundations kate.kretz@montgomerycollege.edu
Renee Therese Lachman –– Art Foundations, Crafts renee.lachman@montgomerycollege.edu
Jennifer J. McCracken –– Ceramics j.j.mccracken@montgomerycollege.edu
John A. Muirhead –– Art Foundations john.muirhead@montgomerycollege.edu
Sarah B. Oppenheim –– Dance sarah.oppenheim@montgomerycollege.edu
Karin J. Rodney-Haapala –– Digital Photography karin.rodney-haapala@montgomerycollege.edu
Meryl E. Shapiro –– Dance meryl.shapiro@montgomerycollege.edu
Cheryl A. Tobler –– Music cheryl.tobler@montgomerycollege.edu
Amare Worku –– Art Foundations amare.worku@montgomerycollege.edu










Montgomery College

Montgomery County, MD

240-567-5000

©2018, Montgomery College