Skip to Main Content
CHSHPEH Unit Leadership Team

Collegewide Communications, Health Sciences, Health& Physical Education, and Humanities (CHSHPEH) Unit Leadership Team

In 2014, after several years of design and planning, the academic structure of Montgomery College was reorganized to help students succeed and complete their education. This new structure, with four units of thoughtfully-aligned disciplines, will better address student needs and learning outcomes. The ability to make these modifications -- whether to facilities, programs or support services--is necessary to address shifting demographics and economic changes. The critical aspect in these activities is to be able to predict the needs of the future and to respond quickly. We are prepared to meet the challenges of taking our campus and college mission into the future– locally, nationally and globally. We are most proud of the fact that, in the midst of this growth and change, we have maintained our steadfast commitment to open access and to academic quality.  

Communication, Health Sciences, Health and Physical Education, and Humanities: Dr. Brad Stewart, Vice President/Provost

Health Sciences, Health, and Physical Education: Angie Pickwick, Dean

  • Chair of Health and Physical Education, Rockville: Ms. Beth Ridings
  • Chair of Health Sciences, Health and Physical Education, Takoma Park/Silver Spring: Ms. Diane Barberesi
  • Chair of Nursing, Takoma Park/Silver Spring: Ms. Dianna Matthews

Communication, AELP, and Linguistics: Monica Trent, Dean

  • Chair of AELP, Linguistics, and Speech Communication, Germantown: Ms. Jorinde Van Den Berg
  • Chair of AELP, Linguistics, and Speech Communication, Rockville: Ms. Usha Venkatesh
  • Chair of AELP, Linguistics, and Speech Communication, Takoma Park/Silver Spring:  Ms. Angela Nissing

Humanities: Dr. Sharon A. Fechter, Dean

  • Chair of Humanities, Germantown (hosting Health and Physical Education, and Arts): Mr. Joe Thompson
  • Chair of History and Political Science, Rockville: Mr. Lee Annis
  • Chair of World Languages and Philosophy, Rockville: Ms. Christina Butler
  • Chair of Humanities, Takoma Park/Silver Spring (hosting Social Sciences and Business): Ms. Ivonne Bruneau-Botello


"For time and the world do not stand still.  Change is the law of life, and those who look only to the past or the present are certain to miss the future."   

                                                                                                                                                                              ___ John F. Kennedy


Montgomery College

Montgomery County, MD


©2018, Montgomery College