offers several courses which satisfy training requirements for child care
professionals in Maryland. Licensed and/or accredited centers and
preschools as well as the Maryland State Department of Education/Child Care
Division accept college transcripts as approved documentation of formal
Effective Spring 2014, paper
certificates will no longer be issued for job related purposes. Email Dr.
Jeannie Ho or call her at (240) 567-7468 for more information.
90- Hour Course Certificate:
Students who pass EDUC 135 (ED 120) - Child Growth and Development, and EDUC 136 (ED 121) - Curriculum Planning in Early Childhood Education with
a C or higher have completed the requirements for the 90 Hour Course
certificate required for lead teachers at licensed child care centers or
preschools in the State of Maryland. EDUC 135 (ED 120) provides students
with knowledge of child development and learning. EDUC 136 (ED 121) focuses on
activity plans, environment designing and relationships with children and
Infant/Toddler - 45 Hour Course Certificate:
EDUC 153 (ED 123), Infant and Toddler
Development and Curricular Planning, introduces the theory and practice of
educaring for infants and toddlers in a group setting. Upon completion of
this course, the student has completed the requirements for the
Infant/Toddler 45 Hour Course Certificate required to hold the position of
Infant/Toddler senior staff in a child care center.
School-Age Care - 45 Hour Course Certificate:
EDUC 154 (ED 124), School-Age Child Care, covers theories and
teaching practices for providing before-and-after-school programs serving
children five to thirteen. Upon completion of this course, the student
has completed the requirements for the School-Age Care 45 Hour Course
Certificate required to be a group leader in before-and-after-school programs
offered in the State of Maryland.
Why take college courses instead of training
classes to meet the state requirements for Child Care providers?
A 90-hour or 45-hour course certificate
obtained from other training institutions cannot be transferred to Montgomery
College as college credits. Thus, students who have received a course
certificate from other trainers will still need to take the related courses
at Montgomery College if they decide to work on the Associate’s Degree or
One-Year Certificate. However, students who take the courses for credit
meet both the training requirements and degree requirements at the same time.
Where can I get information on becoming a licensed family child care provider?
In order to become a licensed family child care provider, you must
meet certain requirements based on Maryland State Law. To find more
information on opening a family child care, contact:
Central Office of Licensing
Office of Child Care
200 West Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: (410) 767-7802
Regional Office of Licensing
Office of Child Care
51 Monroe Street, Suite 200
Rockville, MD 20850
Phone: (240) 314-1400