Skip to Main Content

F. Scott Fitzgerald banner

F. Scott Fitzgerald Literary Award  

In 1996, the city of Rockville honored the centennial of the birth of F. Scott Fitzgerald. It was a year-long celebration, filled with activities and happenings which would have delighted Fitzgerald, the romantic legend and the chronicler of the Jazz Age who, incidentally, is buried with his family at Saint Mary’s Church in Rockville. One of these creations was the F. Scott Fitzgerald Literary Festival and its Award, which honored the achievements of a great American author. The event has proven so popular that we have continued it to this day. Every year, as close as possible to Fitzgerald’s birthday, we have continued to honor an outstanding American writer.

2013 Honoree:  Robert Olen Butler

Robert Olen Butler

Robert Olen Butler is the author of thirteen novels, six books of short stories, and a collection of his lectures on the creative process. His first volume of short fiction, A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain (1992), won the 1993 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. Butler has seemingly reinvented himself with each new novel or short story collection.
















Past Award Winners

  • 1996: William Styron
  • 1997: John Barth
  • 1998: Joyce Carol Oates
  • 1999: E. L. Doctorow
  • 2000: Norman Mailer
  • 2001: Ernest J. Gaines
  • 2002: John Updike
  • 2003: Edward Albee
  • 2004: Grace Paley
  • 2005: Pat Conroy
  • 2006: Jane Smiley
  • 2007: William Kennedy
  • 2008: Elmore Leonard
  • 2009: Julia Alvarez
  • 2010: Alice McDermott
  • 2011: Maxine Hong Kingston
  • 2012: None

Montgomery College

Montgomery County, MD


©2019, Montgomery College