Skip to Main Content

Behavioral Intervention Team

Our Mission

The mission of the Montgomery College Behavioral Intervention Team (B.I.T.) is to maintain a healthy, safe, and secure environment, free of intimidation and harm, by systematically addressing behaviors of concern.  The B.I.T. is comprised of two types of teams: campus-based and college-wide.  The roles of each are listed below:

Campus-based B.I.T.

Collegewide B.I.T.

  • Review reports of behavior of concern
  • Assess levels of threat and make referrals
  • Document contacts and case information
  • Provide information/training to the campus
  • Refer to the Dean of Student Services for Code of Conduct violations
  • Develops protocols and reports
  • Create appropriate responses and resources
  • Obtain and use feedback for process improvement
  • Communicate with the Montgomery College community
  • Coordinate with College Emergency Management
  • Provide training and information sessions

Campus-based teams are comprised of staff, faculty, and administrators who work at that campus.  The college-wide team consists of all campus B.I.T. members plus Campus and Community Coordinators, Director of ADA Compliance, Deans of Workforce Development and Continuing Education, Campus Vice Presidents/Provosts, Legal Council, Human Resource representatives, Facilities and Security representatives, and the Director of Emergency Management. 

Click on the tabs below for a list of our campus-based teams:

B.I.T. Report Protocols 

  • Step 1. An Incident report is filed to the B.I.T. Chair and/or Dean of Students
  • Step 2. The B.I.T. Chair and/or Dean of Student Services determine whether to proceed as a B.I.T. case or other
  • Step 3. If a B.I.T. case is opened, the campus-based team is made privy to the information
  • Step 4. A background investigation begins and the campus team is convened 
  • Step 5. The B.I.T. reviews information to determine the threat level, if any
  • Step 6. If a threat exists, the B.I.T. recommends an intervention to the B.I.T. Chair and/or Dean of Students
  • Step 7. Intervention takes place and team follows up as appropriate
Dr. Jamin Bartolomeo Dean, Student Services
Dr. Denise Dewhurst Professor, Psychology
Mr. Michael Dunn Manager, Safety and Security
Ms. LaShaun Harris
Administrative Aide, Student Services
Ms. Debi Higbie-Holmes (Co-Chair)            Director, Student Life
Ms. Tamesha Robinson (Co-Chair) Counselor/Professor, Student Services
Ms. Kimberly TalleyCounselor/Professor, Student Services
Mr. William Witte Professor, Business/Science/Math/Technology 
Ms. Norma Winffel Recruitment and College Access Coordinator 
Mr. Harry Zarin  Counselor/Professor, Disability Support Services
Dr. Debra Bright (Chair)          Associate Dean, Student Services
Mr. Fabian DrainCounselor/Professor, Student Services
Ms. Sue Haddad Counselor/Professor, Disability Support Services
Ms. Aggie Harrell
Counselor/Professor, Student Services
Dr. Tonya Mason Interim Dean, Student Services
Ms. Tara Nelson Manager, Safety and Security
Dr. Melissa ScarfoneCounselor/Professor, Disability Support Services 
Mr. Don Smith Director, Evenings and Weekends
Ms. Terri Bailey Counselor/Professor, Student Services
Mr. Shane Doyle Officer Lead, Safety and Security
Ms. Janee McFadden (Chair) Acting Associate Dean, Student Services
Dr. Edward Muchene Counselor/Professor, Disability Support Services
Mr. James Ray Manger, Safety and Security
Dr. Clemmie Solomon Dean, Student Services

Montgomery College

Montgomery County, MD


©2016, Montgomery College